Forgiveness by Dani DiPirro

I would call this more a collection of quotes and positive affirmations than a book.  It took me less than an hour to read, and in the end, I don’t feel like I came away with much more than a few new quotes I hadn’t heard before (all of which I found for free and favorited on BrainyQuote for future reference.) I wouldn’t say that I found this book helpful in learning how to forgive, although it did remind me of why it is important to forgive.  At the end of the book, there are some lists of ways to forgive in certain circumstances (at home, at work, in love, etc.) but they are very vague suggestions and don’t give any tips for how one would go about achieving this forgiveness.  Speaking from personal experience, when you have been hurt it is very hard to find a way to forgive even when you want to, especially if a violation of trust is involved.  I was hoping to experience a book about ways to achieve forgiveness in difficult circumstances.  Because all of the quotes can be found on the internet for free, and because most people who are picking up a book about forgiveness already want to forgive, I wouldn’t recommend anyone buy this book if they are looking for help to achieve that goal.  However, if you are looking for encouragement along the journey of forgiveness you have already started, you will definitely find it here, even if you can find it for free elsewhere.

I received a copy of this book for free to read and review through Netgalley

Leave a Reply

